The Most Cliche Fall Recipe. Ever.

Pumpkin Bread and Pumpkin Muffins.  I know, I know, very original.  I bet you haven’t seen many fall recipes these days that include pumpkin in the list of ingredients, have you?  Well, if you are like me, I get über excited looking at the fall-adorned Real Simple and Every Day with Rachel Ray magazine covers when I am line at Jewel buying Skinnygirl magaritas.  I pick up the freshly pressed October 2011 issues and skim through the mouth-watering fall recipes thinking, “I am sooo going to try this out…”  Or, “I am going to plan a fall foliage dinner party with golden leaf place card holders and I will make homemade butternut squash ravioli…and fresh hot apple cider from the apples I didn’t pick because I didn’t go apple picking in Michigan like so many city-folk do around this time of year…”  Ahhh, hospitality ideation getting the best of me,  only to leave me with…

My annual loaves of pumpkin bread and trays of chocolate chip pumpkin muffins (same exact recipe as the pumpkin bread but add around 1 cup of chocolate chips and use muffin tin…I know, again, pretty creative, ha?).  And all that said, share with you the recipe I used a couple of weeks ago that, while unoriginal, is very tasty and admittedly good for the season and a great little treat to bring to a neighbor or for the office.  If I can bake it, so can you.

Pumpkin Bread Recipe

  • 3 cups sugar
  • 1 cup cooking oil/vegetable oil
  • 4 eggs
  • 3 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 TSP salt
  • 2 TSP baking soda
  • 1 1/2 – 2 TSP cinnamon
  • 1 TSP nutmeg
  • 2/3 cup water
  • 1 1/2 cans of 15oz pumpkin (1 can = 15 oz so I use just under 2 full cans, around 20-25oz)

 
(I didn’t say it wasn’t messy.  Man, my entire kitchen was covered in flour.  I always make a mess when I play the part of domesticated wife/chef.)

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.  Grease the bottom and up 1/2 inch sides of two 9x5x3 loaf pans.  Mix sugar and oil with an electric mixer on medium speed.  Add eggs.  Beat well, set aside.

Large bowl:  combine flour, soda, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg.  Alternately add flour to mixture and water to sugar mixture, beating on low speed after each addition until combined.  Beat in pumpkin.

Bake 55-65 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean.  Cool on wire racks for 10  minutes, remove from pans and cool completely. If you are making

Special hint – my mom always buttered her pumpkin bread and I have to say, it’s ridiculously good when you eat it that way 🙂

Leave a Reply

