What’s the Deal With Burt’s Bees Beeswax Lip Balm?

Yep, I did it.  I wrote a blog about Burt’s Bees Beeswax Lip Balm.

Every so often, I come across something or someone or a new trend or an old trend brought back that stimulates curiosity and intrigues me to know more.  And for actually a couple of years, but more recently in the last three months, credited to my dear friend Maggie Pierce, the simple, yellow peppermint-y tubes of Burt’s Bees lip balm have my motor running.  This stuff is like crack.  Not that I have ever done crack, but it’s addicting, refreshing and momentarily satisfying which I would guess are all adjectives of crack as well.

How could something so simple be so amazing?  Well, let me tell you.

  1. Every time I use it I smile or laugh out loud because I visualize Magpie slopping this stuff all over her lips in a less than provocative, yet joyfully serious way.  If you ever want to get a laugh, watch Magpie apply Burt’s Bees.
  2. The minty flavor makes me feel like I don’t have to brush my teeth.  Okay, that was extreme.  But, I will admit that if I lube my lips with this stuff post lunch, most people give me the look like, “wow, I can’t believe she brushes her teeth after lunch!”  Nobody has ever said that to me but I am sure they will at some point.
  3. It moisturizes, it tingles and it has great consistency.  And no, I am not a Burt’s Bees sales rep.
  4. I live in Chicago.
  5. Let me elaborate on point 4.  It’s dry and cold around 253 days a year.  Chapped lips prevail.  And to that,  I have purchased $20 gourmet lip balms and $1 Wal*Mart brand lip balms for my cracked, dry, very unattractive lips and results = nada.  Naturally, that pisses me off because with chapped lips, it’s tough to pull off my awesome bright red Chanel lipstick that I paid far too much for.  Until Mr. Burt was introduced to me.  It works.  And if you see me wearing any shade of red lipstick in the winter it’s because my lips have been Burt’s Bees-ized.

If these reasons aren’t enough, let me direct you to the review site of the Burt’s Bees website (oh yeah, any lip balm that has a review section of their website clearly is winning market share).  Read it and weep.

Mwuah!

2 responses

  1. I love that you blogged about Burt’s Beeswax!!! Thanks for the shout out and I’m glad I make you laugh every time I apply it to my lips. It’s probably even funnier when I can’t find it and I literally go insane, drop everything I’m doing and go buy a new one. Does Costco sell it buy the pallet? 🙂

Leave a Reply

