Sometimes, it’s the Little Things.

If you live in a big city, you know the painful anticipation of running errands on the weekends.  Why?  Because, while we love our cities (and in my case, Chicago), driving one mile can sometimes take a solid 20 minutes.  And then add in a festival or a Cubs game or a Wisconsin resident that is in the big city for the first time and is very sweet , but very nervous and a slightly annoying driver.  No offense to anyone from the land of cheese (trust me, without tourists I don’t have a job).  It’s just an observation based on personal experience and a few fragile beeps of my horn to hurry them along.  I have actually spent 3-4 hours “running errands” to only have gone a mere three places.  Ann vs. Chicago.  Chicago wins.

And then to find a parking spot?  Ha! If it is truly your lucky day, you maybe can snatch a good spot and pay $4 to park for an hour or so.  Or, if you are like me, sometimes you valet at the most expensive restaurant in the city because you are running late but it’s right next to a few places you have to go and then you pay eight times what any normal human being should ever pay for parking.  I hope my husband isn’t reading this.

While you may think I am writing today to convince you to move to the suburbs where you never pay for parking and running errands takes 30-60 minutes, I am not.  I would choose the sweet-yet-annoying Wisconsin driver and wasting three hours of my weekend any day over the suburbs.  Don’t get me wrong.  I love all of my friends and family that live in the burbs and think there are reasons and seasons it makes sense to live there.  It’s just different strokes for different folks and city living is where I will be for the foreseeable future.

Okay, back to the point of this blog.  On a warm Saturday afternoon a few weeks back, I decided to tackle the dreadful running of errands on a Saturday afternoon.  After feeling defeated by traffic and only had checked one thing off of my infamous ‘to-do’ list, I decided to pop into my most favorite store  Jayson Home.  Jayson Home is an upscale French-European furniture and home goods market in the heart of Chicago.  Despite not being able to afford almost anything they offer, I go there to get inspired and pray I find something amazing on clearance.   I love this store.  And to my surprise and joy, I was even inspired when I pulled into their parking lot (ahem, yes, this is a store that has *free* parking and ample parking spots…I guess they have to make up for their ridiculously high prices) to find these inspiring, witty and delightful parking signs.  Aside from loving them at face value, I credit Jayson Home for being creative with parking spots.  I can say with confidence that no other store I go to has incorporated their brand into their parking spots. 

Which one inspires you the most?

  

 

 

 

Yes, sometimes, it is the little things.  Here’s to being inspired, no matter where you live.

3 responses

    • You are welcome and I was just in the store again last weekend…more content to come as I LOVE the store 🙂 And rest assured I will be at the warehouse sale!

Leave a Reply

