My Me Weekend

Sometimes, we just need one.  After a long week at work.  For a special occasion.  On the fly.  To celebrate.  To be alone.  To recharge.  Or just because.  A “Me Weekend.” 

And this past weekend was just that.  If you haven’t done one of these in a while (or ever), I highly recommend penciling it in sometime soon.  It’s rare for me that I take intentional  time alone at home (in other words, not traveling for a weekend getaway or not committed to five plans in the course of two days), in Chicago, to enjoy some down time and partake in the beauty the city has to offer.  Here’s how I spent my “me weekend.”

Right at 5pm on Friday to get started and get my mind in weekend mode, I went to the gym and spent 40 minutes getting caught up on People’s Style Watch edition while busting a move on the elliptical.  Snagged some great ideas for some fun summer attire.  Check.

Believe it or not, I almost never have manicured nails and I actually don’t really like getting manicures.  Yes, I love the outcome, but, for me, it’s not relaxing and typically 30 minutes after I leave the salon, I smudge a nail.  And then I am annoyed.  But every so often when I am not rushed for time, I go all out and get a mani and a pedi. (Definitely prefer a pedi over a mani any day…they are more logical…they feel better, the polish stays on for a solid three months [slight exaggeration] and when else can you feel comfortable having someone deal with the calluses on your feet?)  I chose Essie’s “One of a Kind” poppy red color to kick off summer.   And no, I didn’t smudge any of my nails this time 🙂

Sometimes a girl just has to splurge and by herself some flowers.  For me, fresh flowers in my home are truly one of my favorite things and I love buying them on Fridays so I can enjoy them all weekend long.  And the even better part?  I am completely satisfied with the $9.99 bunch from Jewel.  See below.  They have also left such a fresh smell in my entryway which is a nice added bonus to fresh flowers!

   

I kicked off Saturday morning and ran eight miles in prep for my ten-mile race next weekend.  Not sure this was the greatest part of my weekend, but wow, the feeling I have after those long runs is like no other (and admittedly, I enjoy losing myself in thoughts and ideas while running).  And, talk about a great way to see Chicago…I ran from my house, along Lake Michigan to Museum Campus and back.  Absolutely beautiful.

These days, a “me weekend” for a woman would certainly not be complete without being on Pinterest for at least 10 hours.  I spent some time getting inspired and added some more pins to my boards based on some blogs I read.  Check out some of my latest pins!

I love reading and don’t do enough of it and so to get some quiet time reading The Next Christians was definitely a highlight of my “me weekend.”  There is nothing like uninterrupted time to lose yourself in a great read.

When I travel, one of my most favorite things to do is to dine solo.  I love walking into a brunch joint or neighborhood diner and sitting at the bar to enjoy some food in a new town while meeting new people.  And I almost never do that in Chicago.  So on Saturday, I ventured into a hood I rarely frequent, the eclectic and robust Wicker Park neighborhood, to dine solo at Milk and Honey Cafe…pictures speak for themselves.

And of course, I had to venture out into some new shops while on my Wicker Park adventure.  Division street is packed with all kinds of boutiques.  Boutiques for kids, co-ed boutiques and bridal boutiques.  It’s quite fun!  One of my favorite ones was Trillium and I did indulge in a fantastic new summer shirt, perfect for work or weekend (of course, with a camisole under it!).  I bought this in a peachy orange color which will work great with white skinny jeans and some espadrilles.

I took a nap at Starbucks.  Yes, I did.  In a big, brown, cozy leather chair with all kinds of people around me.  Slightly awkward, highly freeing.

Thanks to my friends at Groupon, I took my first photography class  with Chicago Digital Photo Academy using my new Canon Rebel DSLR camera.  The full recap is to come in a future blog, but for now, here’s a little sneak peek at the results.

What’s a girly “me weekend” without Skinnygirl Margarita’s?!  My best friend and her husband had a fantastic kick off to summer Mexican fiesta and what better time to try Bethenny’s new white peach margarita?  A-mazing, per usual.

I also had some time to sit on my balcony and do some writing which was so relaxing and nice.  (Sort of ironic as I type this blog.)

And that was my much-needed “me weekend.”  What would you do if you had a “me weekend” planned soon?

P.S. For those of you wondering where Rick was this weekend…Well, there’s this relatively famous convention in town called NATO.  Have you heard of it?!  🙂  Rick’s hotel is hosting The White House, inclusive of Mr. President himself and Hillary Clinton (she prefers to be called and addressed as Madame Secretary and travels with an additional giant suitcase completely filled with books as she is an avid reader…this is no lie).  Needless to say he was a bit preoccupied ensuring everyone was happy and safe, while trusting the vast amounts of security and coast guards were protecting all 1,209 rooms at the Sheraton Chicago Hotel & Towers.

4 responses

  1. Sounds like an amazing weekend!! My me weekend is the weekend after July 4th! I need to start planning but working out, cooking new recipes and the pool will definitely be on my list!

  2. Ann I love this. Your photos are beautiful! I was laughing at the beginning when you said you usually have 5 things scheduled….remembering Jake telling you “Your life is an agenda!” LOL….I am glad you are so happy & free-spirited & comfortable enough to nap at Starbucks. You are very refreshing! xoxo

Leave a Reply

