Paris in Color

I am a total sucker for coffee table books. Translation:  if you are thinking of buying me a gift, which actually seems like a pretty good now that I typed that, you will win major points for a creative coffee table book.  Buying coffee table books is true shopping therapy for me, especially when I go to stores like Anthropologie where there are more amazing books than I would even know what to do with!  And on one rainy Saturday afternoon while I was browsing around Pottery Barn, I spotted THE coffee table book:  Paris in Color.  Without even opening it, I knew I would love it.  It’s a really clever, creative and simple idea by a woman named Nichole Robertson (who also has a great blog called Little Brown Pen).  In the Fall of 2008, she and her husband decided on a whim to move to Paris (obvious great decision) and living there she captured moments and objects and culture and art on camera.

Here’s what Amazon says (and they nailed it so I decided not to compete with their description):  Take a journey through the world’s most romantic city, traveling from color to magnificent color with this beguiling book. An orange café chair, bright blue bicycles against a fence, a weathered white door—Nichole Robertson’s sumptuous photographs of the distinctive details of Paris, all arranged by color, evoke a sense of serendipitous discovery and celebrate the city as never before. At once a work of art and a window into the heart of the city, Paris in Color will surprise and delight those who love art, design, color, and, of course, Paris!

Photo credit:  Nichole Robertson’s Website and Blog, Little Brown Pen

They actually sell this book at a bunch of places (I recently saw it at Anthropologie, go figure!) including Amazon and hey, if you are in Paris, they also sell it at Musee d’Orsay, naturally.  It’s a great housewarming gift, a nice surprise and delight to give to someone who is going to Paris or just a great buy to keep for yourself to get inspired!  It literally puts a smile on my face and pushes my imagination to run wild when I flip through the pages of this book.  Definitely a new favorite.

3 responses

  1. Pingback: 12 Summer Gift Ideas «

  2. Pingback: Friday Round Up: Presence and Presents « Ann Written Notes

Leave a Reply

