Note to Self: Slow Down

This past week I have started to feel the weight of the “holiday hurry,” as I will deem it.  You all know what I am talking about.  Your calendar starts getting booked with holiday parties, dinners and brunches.  You need to make time to give back, serve, volunteer.  You have to start shopping.  You have to send out cards.  Get your hair colored.  Decorate your home.  Arrange travel plans.  One by one, you check things off the list.  You hurry through the holiday season as the busy-ness takes over your life.  And before you know it, it’s January 5, the new year has started and you ask yourself “where did the holiday season go?”  It’s a shame, isn’t it?

For me, I am 110% guilty of the “holiday hurry” and so today I am reminded to SLOW DOWN.  Be present.  Be in the moment.  Enjoy each day.  No, each hour. Each minute.  And give thanks along the way.  And it reminded me of one of my favorite books that I just read,   One Thousand Gifts by Ann Voskamp.  Ann is truly one of the best writers I have come across in my life (there is no exaggeration here, promise).  And I pulled one of her quotes (and continued to learn and play with Illustrator and some new fonts!)  that is, at least for me, a perfect reminder to slow down.  What are some things you do to help slow yourself down during the holiday season?  Please share!

One response

  1. You make such a good point… with the holidays comes a time of pure madness and just non-stop things to do. My escape is usually Yoga. Although it is only a couple of hours a week, I always come out feeling renewed. It’s important to have those moments when you are focused solely on yourself, turning your mind off.

    Thanks for the book suggestion, I’ll have to check it out.

Leave a Reply

