Best of Holiday Gift Guides

If you are like me and, um, the rest of the population, you may {already} be overwhelmed by the retail spam marketing during this time of year.  Listen, I am in marketing and I hate to say this, but gosh, the choices are endless and often leave me paralyzed and brain-warpedI love the fact that the handy-dandy world wide web has given us so many resources, but sometimes I just want simple.  I want easy.  I want focus.  I just want to buy some holiday gifts without spending 30 hours searching (if you are like me, you get an email, you click through, you find a new blog, you Google the writer, you find cool images, you end up on Pinterest and the next thing you know 4 hours have gone by and you have done nothing).

Well, my fellow readers and dear friends, I thought I would try to help you out and share with you some of my personal favorite holiday gift guides.  Maybe, just maybe, you can buy a few gifts, feel productive and THEN spend 4 hours on Pinterest if you want.

  1. IHOD Holiday Gift Guide –  Anna, the creative behind this blog and guide, shares with her readers her annual holiday guide and I have to say, I am impressed.  From unique finds on Etsy to Peppermint Truffles (yum) to great ideas for the gents, I love her online holiday gift catalog!
  2. J.Crew 101 Gift Guide – of course, you knew I would feature this.  Here’s the deal.  It rocks.  Awesome gift ideas and ridiculous visual stimulation (that’s reason enough to visit the site), you will for sure find a gift for…her, him, for girls, for Ann Ueno, for boys.
  3. Restoration Hardware Stocking Stuffer Guide – let me just say I was able to cover off a lot of kids in one fell swoop here.  The best part, however, is there are very unique gifts for everyone – your dad, co-worker, game-lover, your friend who is a magician, yourself, your friend who is a total tech geek…everyone!
  4. Etsy Gift Ideas – I don’t need to explain myself here.  Supporting amazing artists, creators and designers is just plain awesome.  And you really will find one-of-a-kind gifts here for everyone on your shopping list.
  5. Vogue’s Holiday Gift Guide – okay, let me be honest.  I probably won’t will never buy anything from this, but, it’s fun to look at and it’s Luxe with a capital L.  Hermes and Chanel and Gucci oh my!
  6. JustGive.org Charity Gift Card – there are several companies out there that do this and kudos to all of them for creating a platform to give someone the gift of charity.  As it says on their website, “You choose the value of the cards; your recipient chooses the charity; their charity receives a donation—everyone wins.”  Awesome, right?  Talk about a gift that keeps on giving.
  7. Dwell Holiday Gift Guide  – for the  music lover, wine enthusiast, chef, traveler, euro-obsessed and everyone in between, I love the creativity and unique aspects to the products Dwell offers.
  8. Red Envelope Christmas Favorites – I have to say, I think Red Envelope has stepped up their game these days.  Specifically, I think their monogram and personalized gifts are far less cheesy and much more modern and classy.  So if you are looking for some personalized options, check them out.
  9. World Market Gift Shop – truth be told, I shop here a lot.  I buy wine, wrapping paper and sometimes a giant container of peanut butter pretzels for my dad.  I recently bought really cool letters that spell out TRAVEL covered in a map for my office.  I buy unique picture frames here.  I buy bath towels here.  One year I bought an “Around the World” twelve-pack of brewskies for my brother-in-law.   I actually once had my sister buy like 10 bottles of wine not to drink, but to decorate with. I buy a lot of stuff from this store.  Maybe you should, too.
2 responses

  1. Such great ideas Ann! And I giggled when I read what happens online… “4 hours have gone by..” ohhh the magic of Pinterest!
    I used to LOVE World Market when I lived in Chicago. We do not have one in Philadelphia and I miss it. The website will have to do for now 🙂

Leave a Reply

