Office Space Before and After

It’s rare that as a Director of Marketing you will get {politely} asked to evacuate your office, find new office space for your team, figure out how to sign a corporate lease, speak IT speak (aka combo of Japanese, Taiwanese and Swiss), understand corporate finance, hire an architect, design a space, curate art and move into a new space within a calendar year.  Yeah, pretty sure that wasn’t on the job description when I signed up at Starwood almost 9 years ago.  But, I must say, having the privilege to lead a project like that was truly a career highlight for me.  There are many reasons why, but let’s focus today on, well, admittedly the main reason…because I got to pretend I was on HGTV and design an office space people!  How fun is that?!  It’s like a dream job within a dream job.  Domino magazine, here I come!  Design Sponge, here I come!  Extreme Home Office Makeover, here I come!  (For those of you who know me well know that I am actually pretty serious…sort of…yes, I am…100%.)

Anyways, I won’t bore you with the details of how I had to spend 45 minutes on the phone figuring out how to expense a refrigerator.  Or the time when I had to interrupt all of the really smart IT people and ask them to speak in English as I had no idea what they were talking about and really just wanted to know if we could get some wi-fi.  Or the time I called our VP of real estate early on and essentially told him I had no idea what I was doing…we had a good laugh…and then signed a lease…it was so fun {sarcasm}!

Okay, I will stop for real this time.  Just here to share with you some fun before and after pictures of our new office space (plus some fun photojournalism of when my team saw the space for the first time!). While it’s not 100% complete, it’s pretty dang close and for my first big gig as a pseudo interior designer, I’m happy with the outcome.  A humungous thank you to OKW Architects (loved working with Amber!), Synergy Construction Group (Phil and Sam ROCK!), Henricksen (Emily was really helpful finding affordable and chic furniture solutions!) and Cushing (Sheldon, Liz and Matt were great…loved the outcome of the art and wall quotes!).  Enjoy 🙂

Mood Board

office-space-before-and-after

Entryway

office-space-before-and-after

office-space-before-and-after

http://www.cushingco.com/index.shtml

http://www.cushingco.com/index.shtml


office-space-before-and-after

http://www.cushingco.com/index.shtml

IMG_1189

office-space-before-and-after

IMG_1192

The Separation Solution (having a loft office is great, but it creates a need for separation and this turned out to be a perfect solution…hence, the separation solution!)

IMGoffice-space-before-and-after

IMGoffice-space-before-and-after

IMGoffice-space-before-and-after

Collaboration Area

office-space-before-and-after

office-space-before-and-after

office-space-before-and-after

office-space-before-and-after

The Art Column (if I told you how many hours I spent curating the art you may make fun of me for a very long time)

office-space-before-and-after

office-space-before-and-after

Kitchen

office-space-before-and-after

office-space-before-and-after

office-space-before-and-after

Loved leveraging our existing brand photography.  These shots are part of the Westin SuperFoods program…perfect for our kitchen!

office-space-before-and-after

office-space-before-and-after

office-space-before-and-after

office-space-before-and-after

Conference Area (how bad do you want to go there?  Talk about inspiration during a meeting!)

IMGoffice-space-before-and-after

office-space-before-and-after

Vinyl, inspiring quotes on walls (think company brand messages, taglines, etc.) are an easy and low-cost way to perk up a space!

office-space-before-and-after

office-space-before-and-after

Here’s another quote that is located in one of our hallways.  It’s all about being inspired and proud to work for Starwood!  Oh and for some reason the picture is showing it looking crooked…weird…it’s not crooked at all in real life.  Hmmm…

office-space-before-and-after

The Details (aka the super duper fun part for me!)

In each person’s office, I curated art that has some sort of meaning to the people on my team.  I had asked them their favorite Starwood Hotel, their favorite travel destination, their dream vacation, etc.  My goal was to make them feel inspired and give them some visual eye candy throughout their workday!

office-space-before-and-after

office-space-before-and-after

office-space-before-and-after

I’ve had a personal goal to learn graphic design so the last 4-5 months, I did just that.  And I took my new skills and brought them to life in a personal way for my team.  I asked each person their favorite quote as well as their personal passions.  With that, I made each person an 8 1/2 x 11 print for their desk, as well as signs for the front of their door.

office-space-before-and-after

office-space-before-and-after

office-space-before-and-after

Always important to have your CEO’s book on your desk, right?  I worked with our corporate office to get books sent in time for the opening.

office-space-before-and-after

And it’s only perfect that since we are in the hotel business that we have do-not-disturb signs for our doors!  I had our corporate brand teams send these so each office door has one.  Let’s just hope that nobody is actually sleeping at their desks 😉

office-space-before-and-after

office-space-before-and-after

The final product!  Can you tell I’m happy?

office-space-before-and-after

office-space-before-and-after

18 responses

  1. Ann, this is unreal…you did an incredible job and it is the most beautiful office space I have ever seen! SO proud of you! xx

  2. Ann I am constantly amazed and inspired by you and your incredible zest for life! This project is fantastic! I love it and want to work there. Let me know if u need a coffee girl or a yoga instructor on hand. Haha! Always a treat to b entertained by your blogs. Xo

  3. You have to post this in the newsleter for all to see! I love the photos, the decorations, the creative ideas that went into this. HGTV would be so proud. 🙂

  4. Pingback: Jayson Home Event with Heather Clawson of Habitually Chic «

  5. Pingback: 12 Months of {pretty awesome} Blogging «

  6. Looks wonderful – always stay at Le Meridien when available wherever I go (and love the shampoo they carry, haha). The only thing missing from the stack of books is Heather Clawson’s Creativity at work!

Leave a Reply

