What I Learned in Two Thousand Twelve.

what-i-learned-in-2012Over the last week or so, I have been reflecting on this past year and preparing for the new year. It’s the time of year to do it, right?  And truth be told, I don’t do it enough so I am maximizing the time away from work, the time of calmness now that the holidays are over and the time alone.  And in true Ann spirit, I had to compile a numbered list (I frickin’ love lists) to highlight some things I learned in two thousand twelve. Enjoy…and stay tuned for my final blog post of two thousand twelve!

  1. Having God at the center of my marriage is the key to Rick and my happiness, joy and contentment together as a couple.
  2. To be an effective leader, I have to be humble, be honest, be willing to be vulnerabe and open to feedback (and then actually listening to and doing something with the feedback).  This is not always easy, but, I am grateful to be around people that do challenge me and help me grow.
  3. Vacationing, whether near or far, plane or car (enter Dr. Seuss), is critical to my well-being.  Time to sleep, time to read, time alone, time with Rick, time to learn about a new culture, time to capture moments on my camera, time to try new foods.  Travel is truly part of my DNA.
  4. Setting goals for the year is key for me to continue to grow and challenge myself personally.  I found that setting 3-4 (versus 20 which is where I think I started the year) worked for me and allowed me to achieve the goals.
  5. The work-hard, play-hard way of life rocks.  I committed this year (for the most part) to not working at night and on weekends and I am convinced it made me more productive during the day and made me more content in my personal life.
  6. Actions are around 100 times more important and more credible than words.  Words shmerds.  Don’t mistake this for me succeeding at this or doing this perfectly.  Trust me, I’m good with words and often times it’s a lot easier to say something than it is to do something.  But, I know that my actions are what #count.
  7. Suffering produces amazing outcomes.  Having gone through some tough things this year, namely a really rough miscarriage, the pain kills but the product of the pain is hope, gratefulness, new perspective and endurance.  This bible verse has stood out to me this year:  Romans 5:3-5 More than that, we rejoice in our sufferings, knowing that suffering produces endurance, and endurance produces character, and character produces hope, and hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured into our hearts through the Holy Spirit who has been given to us.
  8. I have a bit of an obsession with reading lifestyle and decorating blogs. But, in my defense, it’s where I brainstorm ideas, try to be creative, learn and enjoy some down time.
  9. When I trust God, He shows up bigger and better than I could ever imagine.
  10. The book, One Thousand Gifts, was the most impactful book I read this year; Julie and Julia follows that one as a distant second.
  11. Being thankful and positive is a better way to live than the alternative.  Easy?  No.  Ideal?  Yes.  #glasshalffull

What were some things you learned in two thousand twelve.

Leave a Reply

