What to Get the Person Who Has Everything.

what-to-get-the-person-who-has-everythingAs Rick’s birthday was approaching this year, I knew I had to think of something good, creative and F-U-N.  You see, in the game of “who gives better presents,” Rick is kicking my you-know-what.  Not that it’s a competition or anything (ahem and not like I am competitve) but I really did want to make this birthday memorable for him.  And then I remembered my friend Katie’s blog (Katie is Keen On) where she hired this dude named Chef Andrew from The Crying Onion, a private chef, as a gift for her friends that were getting married.  Oooohhh, this could be good for Rick!

I contacted Andrew, we dialogued a bit, I asked some questions, I chose the menu (there are literally so many options to choose from and Andrew is super flexible) and I invited my parents, sister and brother-in-law to come to the city to surprise Rick.  Perfecto!  A mini, intimate surprise dinner party at home where I we don’t cook or clean up  (oh, did I mention Andrew takes care of that, too?) for the guy who has everything. Okay he doesn’t have everything but being in the hotel biz, he goes out to tons of dinners so this would be a nice treat, something special, something we’ve never done, something memorable and if Andrew is as good as my friend said he was, it would also be tasty. Now, let me take you through this culinary delight.

{First things first.  The menu at a glance.  On our new chalkboard wall in our dining room.}

ann-written-notes-private-chef-dinner-party{Next up, setting the table.  I was really excited about this as we just bought our new Restoration Hardware Flatiron Dining Table so this was our first dinner party using the new goods.  Plus, I scored the Neiman Marcus cocktail glasses on clearance from Target and busted those out for a little gold bling, naturally.}

IMG_3185 IMG_3186 {This vase is actually the Illume Boulangerie Jar candle from Anthropologie. I love the single pink-tipped rose in it!}IMG_3187 {I love these paper placemats from Cake Vintage.  They are perfect as they do the job, they’re super cute and are customizable.}

ann-written-notes-private-chef-dinner-party

{Enter Chef Andrew.  Cooking in our kitchen.  He brings all the ingredients, pots, pans, everything!}  ann-written-notes-what-to-get-the-person-who-has-everything

{First Course – The Appetizer:  Crab cake with a spicy and sweet relish, siracha and brown mustard.}
ann-written-notes-what-to-get-the-person-who-has-everything

{Second Course – The Salad:  Arugula salad with shaved vegetables and mandarin oranges topped with seared salmon and salmon sushi on the side. Mouth watering yet?}

ann-written-notes-what-to-get-the-person-who-has-everything

{Third Course – The Soup: Roasted butternut squash soup with roasted pork.}

ann-written-notes-what-to-get-the-person-who-has-everything

{Fourth Course – The Main Event: Braised beef short ribs with some ridiculously awesome other stuff like scallions, rice noodle salad, sweet and sour yumminess and a lot of things I am forgetting.  Just trust me, it was de-lish.}

ann-written-notes-what-to-get-the-person-who-has-everything

{The Fifth Course – The Dessert: Homemade (obviously) apple fritter and um, oh…homemade donuts with saffron glaze, chocolate glaze and vanilla glaze sauces.  Yeah, that was dessert.  Watching him fry those bad boys in the pan caused me to drool a bit which was a little embarrassing but he understood.}

ann-written-notes-what-to-get-the-person-who-has-everything

ann-written-notes-what-to-get-the-person-who-has-everything

{And of course, a birthday toast!}

ann-written-notes-what-to-get-the-person-who-has-everything

Well, ladies and gents, hiring a private chef hit. the. spot. Pun intended.  It was an incredible night, Andrew is ridiculously talented, the prices are reasonable and none of us will forget the experience.  I would highly recommend not only him but the concept of hiring a private chef for a special occasion!

7 responses

  1. Pingback: Personalized Gifts for Birthdays, Anniversaries, Weddings and More. « Ann Written Notes

  2. Pingback: Party with Purpose: Hope at Home : House & Host

Leave a Reply

