{At Home} with Alison Clark

At Home With Alison Clark - annwrittennotes.com When it comes to a space that is inviting, comfortable and always on point with today’s trends, Alison Clark’s home is spot on.  And when she agreed to be the first {At Home} feature on Ann Written Notes, I was thrilled!  So, kick off your shoes, relax and make yourself at home as I guide you through Alison’s abode.

Name:  Alison Clark
Age: 36
Locale:  Lincoln Park, Chicago
Career:  SVP, Account Director at Leo Burnett
Three Words that Describe Alison’s Decorating Style:
Comfortable.  Approachable. Current. (We agree 100%!)

You purchased your Lincoln Park condo in 2009. What drew you to this Chicago neighborhood and this home?  I really wanted a vintage walk-up, an apartment that was quintessential Chicago.  The big high-rise buildings with dorm-like halls is not my thing.  The building was approachable and then I walked in and fell in love.  The exposed brick in living room and kitchen.  The hardwood floors throughout.  And the natural lighting, especially from the bay window.  Sold!

At Home With Alison Clark - annwrittennotes.com Image Above:  Entryway featuring a perfect pouf with a great Moroccan design.  Source: Bedside Manor LTD


At Home With Alison Clark - annwrittennotes.com

Your home exudes patterns and colors that complement each other perfectly without being too busy or overwhelming.  Do you think being in advertising has any influence of your creativity at home?  Oh wow.  That’s a good question.  I think a sense of balance is definitely something I learned at work.  It’s really easy to cram too many thoughts/ideas/points into your message.  And, when there is too much, you end up missing everything.

Living Room Sources:  Room & Board Sofa, Crate & Barrel Coffee TableRoom & Board Chairs
At Home With Alison Clark - annwrittennotes.com What are your favorite Chicago home stores?  Well, it depends.  To get inspired, I will walk over to Arhaus or Jayson Home.  If I want to pick up a good rug, I’ll go to HomeGoods.  It all depends on my mood!

At Home With Alison Clark - annwrittennotes.com Throw pillows are a perfect way to update or change a space.  Yours are energetic, bold and playful with sharp designs.  Please share more details!  Ahem, where do we buy these beauties?  I’m always buying new pillows for my living room.  It’s an easy way to freshen things up for a season without spending a ton.  My current pillows are from Z Gallerie, Trina Turk, West Elm and Tabula Tua.

At Home With Alison Clark - annwrittennotes.com You have a simple and classic photo gallery above your couch.  Where did this idea come from?  Completely stole that idea from a Room and Board catalog.  I previously had a huge mirror over my couch, but when I saw this design, I had to copy it.  Bought cheap frames at West Elm and printed out black and white Chicago images at work.  Doesn’t have to be expensive to look good! IMG_1549If you had to pack up and sell everything in your home, what is the ONE thing you would keep?  Oooh.  This one is hard!  Hmmm.  Okay.  My laptop.  It has everything there that’s mine.  My music, my pictures, things I’ve written.  {reminder for readers: back up your laptop!}
At Home With Alison Clark - annwrittennotes.com The chandelier focal point in your bay windows is glamorous and a real conversation piece.  Is there a story behind this piece?  Thanks – love that too!  I had been looking online for something sparkly, but not too formal.  Stumbled across this one and knew it was perfect.  My handyman, however, wasn’t thrilled to string each and every crystal to the fixture when installing the light.

Source: The brand is Uttermost and was purchased through Crest Lighting in Chicago.At Home With Alison Clark - annwrittennotes.com No chic home would be complete without Cupcakes and Cashmere displayed on the coffee table!At Home With Alison Clark - annwrittennotes.com We talked a bit about this picture of you and your dad and got a great laugh of the dad-holding-baby-while-drinking-beer-in-1978-picture.  Too funny!  What is one thing you have learned from your dad?  I found that picture when I was home over the holidays.  The original was really yellowed, so Ritz Camera really helped to bring it back to life.  As for a lesson, I’d say generosity.  He’s really selfless when it comes to paying attention to other people’s feelings, thoughts, and helping them whenever he can. At Home With Alison Clark - annwrittennotes.com

At Home With Alison Clark - annwrittennotes.com Beautiful textured wallpaper in the hallway inspired by Candace Olson.

At Home With Alison Clark - annwrittennotes.com At Home With Alison Clark - annwrittennotes.com You’re a reader, clearly.  What is the last book you read and would you recommend it?  I usually have 1 or 2 books going at a time and bounce back and forth depending on my mood.  I finished Gone Girl over the holidays.  Was a fun, light read for quick plane rides. 

At Home With Alison Clark - annwrittennotes.com At Home With Alison Clark - annwrittennotes.com Another gallery wall in your spare bedroom. What inspired you for the prints in the frames?  Budget was my main driver for the guest room.  I had invested in wallpaper, but without a headboard, I needed something to ground the bed.  I found the 2 small frames (w/ art) at Cost Plus. Loved them, but knew I needed a third piece.  So, I  found a similar frame at West Elm and framed a favorite piece of art paper from Paper Source.
At Home With Alison Clark - annwrittennotes.com At Home With Alison Clark - annwrittennotes.com

You recently upgraded your kitchen and one big transformation was painting the cabinets white.  Recommend or regret?  HUGE RECOMMEND!  Best thing I’ve done in my condo yet.  I had great exposed brick, but the brown tile floors + brown brick + brown granite + brown cabinets was just too much brown.  Wasn’t too expensive to do and finding pulls that matched my current holes was another way to really modernize and freshen up the look. 
At Home With Alison Clark - annwrittennotes.com

This gallery wall is very unique and fresh for a kitchen.  What was your inspiration here?  My inspiration was a huge, long wall that due to the building being 130 years old, was a little crooked in spots.  I knew I wanted to put something a little “forgiving” in here plus hide my ugly security pad and front door buzzer.  I found some great vintage family photographs at my parents house when I was home over the summer.  It look a while to find the right frames and get everything matted, but it turned out much better than I hoped.  Oh, and I also used many images from Houzz to help get additional ideas and find the bravery to do unique pieces and placements. At Home With Alison Clark - annwrittennotes.com What is your most treasured item in your home?  My pictures, especially all of my family and ancestors in my kitchen wall gallery.  There are pictures of my parents, grandparents and great grandparents.  And most are originals, upwards of 100 years old!  Family is so important to me so the reminders of them through my pictures makes coming home that much better.

At Home With Alison Clark - annwrittennotes.com We love the details you added to the gallery.  Where did you get this fabulous bling piece?!  I snatched this up at a Joss and Main sale.  I have also seen something similar at Jayson Home At Home With Alison Clark - annwrittennotes.com You are originally from the Minneapolis/St. Paul area. What made you come to Chicago? And what do you miss most about MN?  I went to college in Madison, Wisconsin and Chicago was the closest big city.  We came here for many fun weekends and I fell in love with the great energy of the city.  You can jump in a cab and be anywhere from theater, to sushi, to a great live show, to the lake in about 15 minutes.  I try to never take that for granted.  But, Minneapolis will always be my home.  The main reason for that is my family is still there, but also the amazing people of MN.  I love it how people will go out of their way to say hello, hold the door for you, or do something kind for a stranger.  Makes you want to pay it forward.

At Home With Alison Clark - annwrittennotes.com We loved this quote displayed in Alison’s kitchen: “Let all that you do be done in love.” 1 Corinthians 16:14At Home With Alison Clark - annwrittennotes.com Ann Ueno’s favorite piece in the house?  This amazing vintage Vogue canvas that is displayed asymmetrically in her bathroom. Source:  Conde Nast Art Collection
At Home With Alison Clark - annwrittennotes.com

Big bold monogram letters are a great substitute for art, a way to personalize and a way to make a statement.  Source: Anthropologie $98

Thank you for touring Alison’s home!  We would love to hear your feedback!

2 responses

Leave a Reply

