Shop Feature: Ruby Begonia’s

ann-written-notes-ruby-begonia'sWhen I go to visit my sister and her family, there is one thing I always try to squeeze in…shopping!  Being from a small town myself, one of the benefits is that there are usually quaint, one-of-a-kind shops to peruse and it’s no different in Morris, Illinois (about an hour southwest of Chicago).  And one of my absolute favorites is called Ruby Begonia’s.  It’s a shabby-chic-meets-French farmhouse store filled with loads and loads of unique home decor, accessories and clothes (and a lot more in between!).

ann-written-notes-ruby-begonia's

They put it best from the Ruby Begonia’s Blog, so here goes:  Located in the heart of the historic Illinois-Michigan Canal town of Morris, IL., Ruby Begonia’s offers a wealth of shabby & chic cottage antiques. Featuring a warm and wonderful mix of new & vintage, from wonderful architectural elements & painted primitive cupboards to one of a kind painted signs, folkart, & European enamelware.

I personally have at least 10 things in my house from there.  I buy gifts there.  I buy things for clients.  I buy things I don’t need (you can’t help it…the stuff is THAT cute).  It’s truly one of my favorite home decor stores to shop in Illinois!  If I ever opened my own store, this would be it.  Here’s a peak into some of what they offer:

Creative signs and wall art (I may have bought this chalkboard sign…yes, I have an obsession with anything chalk related):

ann-written-notes-ruby-begonia's

ann-written-notes-ruby-begonia's

ann-written-notes-ruby-begonia's

Picture frames, pillows, lamps, baby gifts, oh my!  And a whole lot more 🙂

ann-written-notes-ruby-begonia's

ann-written-notes-ruby-begonia's

ann-written-notes-ruby-begonia's

Oh and mirrors.  The mirrors are fabulous!  I insisted that my sister buy this one.  You can’t see it in full but it’s over 5 feet tall and about 2 feet wide and is just splendid!  Antique window pane-esque yumminess.  It’s going to be the focal point of her gallery wall project I am helping her with.

ann-written-notes-ruby-begonia's

I snagged up this amazing French laundry powder for myself and  one as a gift for my mom.  What I can’t wait for is to use this as a fabulous vase when I am done with the soap!

ann-written-notes-ruby-begonia's

How cute is this England-inpsired space of the store?  Next stop…Paddington Station. Mind the gap!  Whoa, that was incredibly cheesy.

ann-written-notes-ruby-begonia's

I’m always a sucker for chic and beautiful soaps and candles…ahhh!

ann-written-notes-ruby-begonia's

For more information on this lovely little shop, you can check out the Ruby Begonia’s Blog or follow them on Facebook.  Or if you are ever in the Morris area, stop in.  Happy shopping!

6 responses

  1. Ann, Merci’…you are too sweet! We always love when someone is as passionate about Ruby as we are! Trufully it is the shoppers we love, THEY make our shop special! I am sorry I missed you that day…we could have had wine! Thanks so much for the kind words, Ann!!!! Monica ps…hope you make it to 3 French Hens Market next time you are here…held 2 Sat. May-Oct, we run the venue with another shopkeeper…and have wonderful vendors!

  2. Pingback: {Reveal} Entryway Before and After « Ann Written Notes

  3. Pingback: {Reveal} Bathroom Before and After « Ann Written Notes

Leave a Reply

