Word of the Week: Francophile + Assorted French Cards from Rifle Paper Co.

francophile-greeting-cardsBonjour!

Over the weekend and into late last night, Paris was on my mind.  When isn’t Paris on my mind?

For one, yesterday was Bastille Day (French National Day, a celebratory day, similar to 4th of July in the states, it is a symbol of the uprising of the modern nation and of the reconciliation of all the French inside the constitutional monarchy which preceded the First Republic during the French Revolution – thanks Wikipedia).

Second, my best friend just got back from Paris and over golf and dinner on Saturday, she shared some of her stories that brought me back to that beautiful city in that beautiful country.  Oh and she may have taken an all-day cooking class in Nice.  Yeah, talk about Julia Child on the brain.

And last, late last night I was checking out the blog of one of my new blog followers, Bravogue.  First off, how clever is that name?  Second, in his “about me” section of his blog, he deemed himself a Francophile.  And immediately my head went to of course I have a crazy Francophile following my blog, not knowing what the heck a Francophile was.  But in reading about him, he didn’t seem crazy and frankly, I admired his passion for going after what he wants (he wants to be a stylist slash work for Vogue Paris one day).  So a Francophile can’t be that bad/weird/crazy, right?

Admittedly, I had to Google what the heck a Francophile was.  And as I was reading, I was screaming in my head (Rick was sleeping next to me otherwise it would have been a verbal, very loud squeal) I AM A FRANCOPHILE, TOO, MR. BRAVOGUE!

So, I am going to err on the side that Francophile is a robust word, one that only smart people use and that it’s very uncommon (ahem, um, that’s why I had to look it up…) and share with you what a Francophile is from Wikipedia:

Francophile: Francophile (or Gallophile) is an individual who has a strong positive predisposition or interest toward the government, culture,history, or people of France. This could include France itself or its history, the French language, French cuisine, literature, etc.

Yep, that’s me.  

The best part is in a few hours I am jet-setting to Montreal which is one of my favorite cities because it reminds me of Paris!  Have a great week and please don’t make fun of me in person or in the comments for my complete ignorance to a word I should have known years ago!  🙂

{Photo Credit is from none other than Rifle Paper Co, one of my favorite Paperies. And how cute is this collection of assorted French Cards?

One response

  1. You MUST travel through Provence once of these days! And, when you go, remember… it’s not about the destination as you travel, it’s about the journey. Another place to get lost in! Great food, great wine, great shopping and wonderful people! Enjoy Montreal.

Leave a Reply

